Hope and Disappointment

This week’s verse, Is 43:23, is posing problems for me.

I worked in Christian Ministry for 15 plus years. 10 as full time. I find it very hard to swallow this verse; especially the end “Those who hope in me will not be disappointed” IS 49:23 For 10 years I chased after God and “did” everything that I felt I was supposed to do. Bible study, christian accountability, I preached, sung on the worship team and gave freely of my money and time. And I still felt disappointed in the hope that I had in God.
The only thing I have ever really wanted in my life was to be married. And it seems like it is the one thing God does not want me to have. Unfortunately there is no pat answer that will make me feel better or assure me that I will be able to have a husband someday.
2 years ago I met this amazing man and we dated for two years. I felt like God had finally brought me my hearts desire.
And then my boyfriend broke up with me. I am so scared to seek hard after God because I feel like he will ask me to be single for the rest of my life.
I did run across this verse “May the God of hope fill you with all joy and peace as I trust in Him” Rom 15:13. I don’t know that I can trust God again.

3 thoughts on “Hope and Disappointment

  1. Isaiah 55:8-9

    8 “For my thoughts are not your thoughts,
    neither are your ways my ways,”
    declares the Lord.
    9 “As the heavens are higher than the earth,
    so are my ways higher than your ways
    and my thoughts than your thoughts.

      1. Friedrich Nietzsche once said “He who has a why can bear any how”. Sometime it is good to let the why go so as not to get bogged down by it.
        Christianity is not a concept or a lofty idea but an encounter with a living God. So it is good to move on from cerebral faith to personal faith.
        A verse to ponder Matthew 19:11- 12 “Not everyone can accept this word, but only those to whom it has been given.For there are eunuchs who were born that way, and there are eunuchs who have been made eunuchs by others—and there are those who choose to live like eunuchs for the sake of the kingdom of heaven. The one who can accept this should accept it.”

Leave a Reply

